I got contacted by Flickr recently (as has every Flickr user) and basically they said (and I paraphrase) “you remember when we said we were going to delete your photos if they went over 1000, unless you paid for Pro? Well we never did. Not a single photo. Only now we might delete your Moderate and Restricted pics if you stay on a Free account”
Well, crap. So I deleted 500-odd historic photos for nothing back when the 1000 pic “limit” [sic] came in? How annoying!
(I still have all the photos backed up on a self-hosted gallery, although all the comments, faves, and views have now been lost, like tears in rain)
I’m more concerned about this new policy on Moderate and Restricted photos though. I have always been fastidious about flagging my more racy pics. I think this new policy will encourage people to sail much closer to the wind on what they post rather than just flagging a photo as Moderate to err on the side of caution, as I have been doing up until now.
The complete announcement is available at
I have been through all my Moderate and Restricted pics and replaced each with a censored version along with a link to the original in my self-hosted gallery.
As of September 2023 I am now on Flickr Pro so have undone many of the censored pics. I still feel sad that I’ve lost all that history though.